IT Support Training | Office 365 Course – Part 3

Special thanks to our member for creating this content: John Korduba

Main Course Content Page

Microsoft 365 – part 3 of 4

Contents

Introduction

Devices

BYOD

Licenses and Apps

Mail

Convert to shared mailbox

One Drive

Contacts

Adding a contact

Editing a contact

Deleting a contact

Guest users

Deleting a User

Introduction

We continue our look at Microsoft Office 365.

Devices

With user account selected, click Devices.
(“Devices” screen displays)

BYOD

BYOD (“Bring Your Own Device”) refers to an IT department’s configuring a worker’s personal devices (e.g., iPad, personal cell phone, etc.) to work with the company’s network.

A help desk tech may get tickets from customers regarding this.

Licenses and Apps

With User account selected, click Licenses and Apps.
(“Licenses and Apps” screen displays)

As discussed above, licenses and apps get assigned to a user when the account gets created.

Each license displays a checkbox. Check the appropriate license
(e.g., “Microsoft 365 Business Standard”) for the user to select it.

You can also check/uncheck the desired apps available for the user.

Click Save Changes.

Mail

With user account selected, click Mail.
(“Mail” screen displays).

The user’s mail related features are listed here.

  • “Show in global address list: Yes” means that the user’s email would be visible in the GAL.
  • “Automatic Replies: Off” means that there is no auto reply to an email that gets received by this mailbox. “Out of Office” notifications are an example of this.
  • “Manage email forwarding” – Allows your company emails to be forwarded to another account. Not every company permits this.
  • Convert to shared mailbox (see below)

Convert to shared mailbox

Allows a deleted user’s mailbox to be converted to a shared mailbox, thereby preserving its emails. Note that shared mailboxes are free, so there is no license cost.

Click Convert to shared mailbox.
(“Convert to shared mailbox” screen displays).

Click Convert.

One Drive

With user account selected, click One Drive.
(“One Drive” screen displays User’s Microsoft cloud storage account).

This area would show user’s cloud storage information, e.g., how much free space is available.

Contacts

A contact might be a company retiree, or a vendor, etc.

Adding a contact

In Admin center, click Users/ Contacts.
(“Contacts” screen displays).

Click Add a contact.
(“New Contact” screen displays.)

Fill in information, as needed.

Expanding Contact information area, would show more contact fields, e.g., “Website,” “fax number,” etc.

In Mail tip area, clicking Hide from my organization address list would hide the contact’s email address from the Global Address list.

Click Add.
(Contact is added.)

Editing a contact

With the contact selected, click Edit contact information.
(“Edit Contact information” screen displays)

Make desired edits and click Save changes.

Deleting a contact

With contact selected, click Delete contact.
(“Delete [user name]?” screen displays.

Click Delete.
(Contact is deleted).

If you delete a contact, it may not go into “Deleted users” folder, but may go into a special folder in Azure, which a sysadmin may be required to access.

Guest users

Guest users are typically vendors who are working in the environment and require limited access.

NOTE: There is no Add Guest user button. This action must be done in Azure. . You can delete and restore these accounts.

Deleting a User

Select the contact.

Select Delete a user.
(“Delete this user?” screen displays.)

Click Delete user.
(User is deleted.)

Special thanks to our member for creating this content: John Korduba

Main Course Content Page

0 responses on "IT Support Training | Office 365 Course - Part 3"

    Leave a Message